Fashion Desk: 2012 Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards

She Said:  2012 Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards

I always wanted to go to (or win a Kid’s Choice Awards). I remember voting for Julia Roberts and the Fresh Prince of Bel- Air. Even though I’m all grown up now I still think that they are a cool award show because they give kids a voice and it’s still fun to watch people get slimed!

While I love orange and the idea of an orange carpet The Kids’ Choice Awards are not always the most fashionable. One of the reasons that the carpet isn’t quite as fabulous as the Grammys or the Emmy’s is because they are filled with young performers.  Also it’s seen as a more casual event because children are involved. I think that’s kind of sad- kids deserve fabulous too! This years carpet was punctuated and a few really lovely outfits (and some not so great looks, too).

Best Dresses

Kelly Osbourne

image from msn.com

Kelly Osbourne in Tony Ward Couture

I love this dress! It’s cute and it’s young but it’s totally appropriate to wear at a children’s event (i.e. not too bare or too short). The texture and the one shoulder give it the basic black dress a fun feeling. The hot pink shoes give the outfit some real pop!

Miranda Cosgrove

image from msn.com

Miranda Cosgrove

This is such a cute dress. I like that she looks young and hip with this cool blue color. And the leather is a great fabric for such a simple silhouetted dress. And I love her booties!

Alyson Stoner

image from msn.com

Alyson Stoner

This dress is stunning. I love this shade of orange! The fabric is soft and floaty but the belt and bodice detail add an amount of structure. I also think this necklace is a really great statement piece without being too over-the-top.

Jennifer Stone

image from msn.com

Jennifer Stone

I loved this dress. I would seriously buy this dress if I could find it (and afford it). I love the red; it’s the perfect slightly orange red. The draping is soft but not too unstructured. And the orange belt is darling.

Sarah Hyland

image from msn.com

Sarah Hyland in Myne

This is another great red dress.  I love that it’s glamorous and shows some skin without being too bare. The slit is perfectly placed and the v-neck isn’t too low. Wrap dresses sound easy but it takes a great execution of a garment to actually have them look great. I’m not crazy about the purse or the shoes. But this is another dress I would love to own.

Kristen Stewart

image from msn.com

Kristen Stewart in Stella McCartney

This is my best dressed for the evening! I love the blue and I LOVE lace! This dress has a very elegant feel because the sleeves help balance the hemline and keep the look from being too bare.  The belt gives some definition and I think the best thing about this dress is that it looks beautiful and comfortable! I would love, love, love to own this dress. The shoes are cute, too. And I’m glad her hair is up but I think this could have looked even more darling with a more finished hairstyle.

Dress Messes

Katy Perry

image from msn.com

Katy Perry

I appreciate the slime nod in the color of her outfit. And being a child of the 80’s I always have a soft spot for my little pony colored things, even her hair. I just really think she could have come up with a much cooler outfit sticking with the fluorescent slime palette. This looks like a beaded sports bra and skirt from discount teen store.

Selena Gomez

image from msn.com

Selena Gomez in Dolce and Gabanna

I hate the bra top.  I don’t like it on anyone unless it’s part of a swimsuit worn at the beach. And this is just really not an attractive look also because of the fabrics of this outfit. They look like dueling upholstery fabric. I understand that Selena Gomez is having an identity crisis because of not wanting to appear too Disney and clean. But I would like to remind everybody back to high school (because life is really just a big version of high school). It took a special and talented girl to sing and perform it didn’t take a special girl to wear the skimpiest clothes. The jacket is cool. I also love her hair, it’s super cool and it’s a cool nod to 90’s style.

Jada Pinkett Smith

image from msn.com

Jada Pinkett Smith

I am not a big fan of the jumpsuit. It’s another look that I think is super hard to pull off well. This in my opinion is not a good jumpsuit. The color is okay but the harem bottom is just unfortunate (I’m also not a harem pant fan). This outfit works on her because she’s so very petite and slight. I just worry about this look catching on. Do most women really want to add volume to their bottom half (not me, no volume anywhere, I’m all about streamlining)?

Keke Palmer

image from msn.com

Keke Palmer

This is a lovely shade of purple. However, it’s a bad fabric (too shiny, it doesn’t look like quality fabric). The bust line doesn’t fit well and it’s much too short. Also because the dress is so short the extra roses and swirls of fabric add bulk and also cheapen the effect of the dress.

Dress Questions

Jennie Garth

image from msn.com

Jennie Garth

There’s nothing really that wrong with this outfit (except I hate open-toed booties- what’s the point of open-toed boots). The top is pretty and flattering and this outfit would be appropriate in a variety of settings. But that’s kind of the problem. She could be going a million places in this outfit. I know she’s not a nominee or anything but I think there still could have been something special about this outfit.

Victoria Justice

image from msn.com

Victoria Justice

I love the short suit look but I think these shorts are a little too slim and a little too short.  The color is a little matronly, too. In my opinion coral is a really tough color to pull off and you need to keep to simple shapes when wearing it. The blouse is lovely though. I appreciate the fashion risk but I don’t think it completely paid off.

Emma Stone

image from msn.com

Emma Stone- Antonia Beradi

I love Emma, so it’s really hard for me to have her on my question list. I like the color of this dress and most of the shape of it. I hate the details on the skirt that look like she’s redesigned the top of the dress but left the old part of the bodice hanging on the skirt. I just wish it were clearer what the point of the extra pieces of fabric on the skirt are for!

He Said Kids’ Choice Awards

The Good

Andrew Garfield

image from msn.com

Andrew Garfield- I love the color of this suit.  I wear a lot of earth tones, and Andrew Garfield can pull them off wonderfully.  I don’t like that he doesn’t have his bottom button buttoned, but I’ve seen that so much this year that I think men are just being pushed out of their limos too fast for some reason.  I’m a big fan of different solids being put together, and here the colors are really pleasant.

Chris Colfer

image from msn.com

Chris Colfer- I typically don’t like his style, but Chris Colfer is very well put together here.  The windbreaker gives a nod to proper award show outfits, without begin too over the top for this event.  The blues of the jeans, shirt and jacket all work as a team to present him well.

Cody Simpson

image from msn.com

Cody Simpson-This outfit is really put together.  The cardigan gives a casual feel, and the striped pants elevate this to an award appearance.  The untucked shirt wouldn’t work at more formal award shows, but here it’s very appropriate.  I really hope he didn’t get slimed because it would really stain the light colors.

The Bad

One Direction

image from msn.com

One Direction- These guys don’t have a single thing that works.  All of the clothes are too tight, their hair doesn’t look done, one is dressed like an Amish farmer, and one clearly forgot they were going to an event entirely.

Alexander Ludwig

image from msn.com

Alexander Ludwig- This look is almost there.  You have a jacket of some kind, and it still looks occasion appropriate.  A few things really stand out that are big problems.  The shoes look like something a ranch hand would wear.  The pants are too tight.  I don’t like tight pants at all, but if you make that choice, leave the cell phone at home! Finally, I’ve left the biggest mistake for last.  The undershirt.  I say undershirt because I can’t tell whether it’s a tank top, or a t-shirt with a bad neckline.  The color makes it look dirty.  Between the shoes and the undershirt, I think he may have forgotten that he’s done filming The Hunger Games.

Drake Bell

image from msn.com

Drake Bell- Are those pajama pants?  The biggest problem here is all the different patterns.  There are pinstripes on the shirt, bigger stripes on the pants, a pattern on the tie, and a different pattern on the pocket square.  All of them are using different colors, and none of it matches.

The Questionable

Josh Hutcherson

image from msn.com

Josh Hutcherson- I want to like this attempt, but something is off.  Here, the boots look good.  The jeans on the other hand, are a little to skinny for my taste. The jacket would be a good piece on its own, but it doesn’t work here.  I also think it doesn’t fit very well.

Carlos Night

image from msn.com

Carlos Night-This look almost works, is just needs a little more of a masculine touch.  The sweater is too soft, for this to work he should look to Cody Simpson, and the scarf needs to be less like a pashmina.  The nautical horizontal stripes aren’t helping this look either.  It’s so close, yet so far.

Travis Barker

image from msn.com

Travis Barker- I don’t like camouflage print, but if he had just worn some kind of jacket, this still would have been very appropriate.  The little girl is dressed really cutely, and does have a coat!

Did we diss anybody you loved?  Anybody that we didn’t talk about that should have been slimed?  Stay tuned for our fashion coverage of the Academy of Country Music Awards.

