From Our Bookshelves: Summer 2012 Reading List

She Said: Summer Reading List

I love reading! I was taught how to read when I was so young that I don’t remember what it’s like to not be able to read. I’m always grateful that even though my mother couldn’t afford to send me on a trip around the world that she did better than that- she taught me how to read. I’ve been so many places in my mind because of my books that Paris is a very dear friend and Prince Edward Island is my second home. I’ve been so many places and have met so many people from all my reading (and hey, no parent could buy a time machine! But I’ve certainly traveled through time!). Even now when I’m feeling so sick some days that just spending time in Paris with Julia Child or a cozy New England winter with the March sisters is still a bright spot in my day!

I love reading so much that I’m actually in multiple book clubs. I’m in a long distance book club with friends from college. But, I’m also a proud member of The Rothstein Book Club! Yes, it’s just RJ and me,  but we have such a good time reading together that we decided to start it. Summer is a great time for reading. Since we both love reading so much we wanted to share with you some of our favorite summer reads, too!

The Rothstein Book Club’s Summer Picks

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

I love this book so much. RJ really loves the movie. I told him that reading the book would change his mind that the book is really the better work. I like the movie. I just think that the book really give the reader a fuller, brighter picture of the characters and this world.  If you have only seen the movie then I would just ask you to please read this book! It’s so wonderfully written (well, I don’t like some of the bad language) and you’ll love Celia so much more.

Love’s Enduring Promise by Janette Oke

We have read the first book of this series and just love them! I have been a big Janette Oke fan since I was eleven years old so I’m rereading the books but I’m having a great time. You may have seen the movies on Hallmark (I hate them!), but they aren’t faithful at all to the books. If you didn’t like the movies then give the books a try. But, if you did like the movies then you will really love the books. I like reading a book that really helps us develop of our character and be better spouses. Plus the books are fun, romantic and not at all dirty! This book picks up a few years after Clark and Marty had each lost their spouses and gotten married to each other. Prairie life isn’t presented as easy but it’s a delight to watch their family grow!

Kari’s picks

Making Waves (Lake Manawa Summers) by Lorna Seilstad

This book is perfect for summer because it all takes place at a fancy summer resort in 1895. I love all the period details! I just adore books that take place in the Victorian and Edwardian era. Marguerite is a great character. I love reading about her learning to balance her desires, society’s expectations and what God has planned for her life. I love this book! In the book she talks about the difficulty of being a strawberry girl in a vanilla world. I totally agree!

A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes from My Kitchen Table by Molly Wizenburg

This book is a really a two in one book. It’s a delightful memoir. Molly really shares some wonderful family memories. You also get some really great recipes in this book because she shares at least one recipe after each short chapter! This is one of my favorite books to read when I’m not feeling well. My friend Caryn picked it for book club and I owe her a huge debt of gratitude for suggesting it. It has a little bit of bad language and some Friends style romantic situations but it’s really not really blue at all.  I love reading about where all her different recipes and preferences come from. Her travels in Paris inspire wonderful recipes. But, her family recipes and pickling recipes are also really neat.

The Wedding Planner’s Daughter by Coleen Murtagh Paratore

I know that this book is a young adult book, but I had to recommend it because it’s so good. Willa’s a bookworm (like me). She loves weddings (like me). And she’s always had trouble fitting in (hello!). What’s better than reading about Cape Cod and weddings in the summertime! Fundamentally this book is about dealing with pain and learning how to be confident being yourself. But, the cast of wonderful characters and seaside fun keep it from being too serious.

 

RJ’s picks

War Horse– This book has inspired both a Broadway play and a Stephen Spielberg movie.  That alone qualifies it for a must read in my house!  It’s a neat idea though to tell what went on in the trenches of World War I through the eyes of a horse that experienced it.  It says a lot about people, and what we value. How we’re different, and ultimately, how we’re all the same, in the bad ways and the good.

New Ideas From Dead Economists– If you’re bummed that your library didn’t have it’s one copy of The General Theory of Employment, Interest and Money by John Maynard Keynes, or A Monetary History of the United States, 1867-1960 by Milton Friedman and Anna Jacobson Schwartz, then this book is for you.  Or if you’re just confused by all of the financial talk that the general public has had to endure the last few years, and don’t want to get a degree in economics to figure it all out, this is also your book.  It’s a really helpful introduction to all of the biggest economic theorists in the history of Economics.  I first read this book in my first economics class I ever took in college, and it’s one of the few books that I bought in college that I still own.  It’s written simply enough for people with no background in this area to read and enjoy.

Lazarus and the Hurricane: The Freeing of Rubin “Hurricane” Carter–  Here’s another one that’s inspired a movie!  This time it inspired The Hurricane starring Denzel Washington.  The story is straightforward and powerful.  A young boy succeeds where Hollywood star power had already failed (Laz read about Carter, and started his journey to free him years after Bob Dylan wrote the song “The Hurricane”), in this tale of social injustice being righted.  It’s really inspiring.

What are you reading this summer?

 

( Clicking on the links takes you to Amazon.com. Purchasing an item from these links will help support The He Said She Said Experience)

