Fashion Desk: 2013 Oscars Red Carpet

She Said: 2013 Oscars Red Carpet

The red carpet of the Academy Awards is always the true highlight of the award’s show season. We’ve season the opening event of the season with the Golden Globes, we’ve seen the actors come ready to party at the SAG awards, but they were all warm-ups for the fashion main event: Oscar night. This year’s red carpet was exploding with ball gowns, metallic dresses and red (maybe that’s why the carpet was more burgundy than red) setting the trends that will be carried out at proms and formal events for the next several years. There’s so much to talk about and so many dresses to see! I think that I may have liked even more dresses this year than I liked at last year’s Oscar red carpet. I may not have watched the show itself, I was deeply disappointed very early on from the tackiness of the host, but thankfully there’s always Oscar fashion to look forward to!

Best Dresses

Salma Hayek in Alexander McQueen

This gown is one of my absolute favorites of the night. I love the cut; it’s so flattering that I could wear it! I love the sumptuousness of the velvet paired with the beautiful gold neck detail. Her hair and makeup are perfect and I love her little gold purse, too!

Helena Bonham Carter in Vivienne Westwood Couture

I know that some people may give me a hard time for liking this dress, but I do. I think the layered skirt is very pretty and I love the sash, too.  I even think her hair and makeup look lovely. Helena definitely has definitive personal style and I always look forward to seeing her on the red carpet.

Kristin Chenoweth in Tony Ward Couture

Kristin proved that she definitely isn’t a good red carpet host, but she had great taste in selecting a gown. This beaded ball gown is stunning! I adore the skirt, it’s so beautifully proportioned! I would love to wear this gown!

Catherine Zeta-Jones in Zuhair Murad

I love gold dresses! I think the sculptural bodice is beautiful and I love the detail on the skirt as well. The train is lovely. I love her earrings, too!

Robin Roberts in Marc Bouwer

How wonderful is it to see Robin Roberts back on TV? She looked absolutely stunning in this dress. I love the beautiful, rich blue and the elegant cut of this dress.

Amy Adams in Oscar de la Renta

I love the beautiful, soft color of this gown. The texture of the skirt is also so beautiful and interesting.

Stacy Keibler in Naeem Khan

I love this dress! The cut is so elegant, yet it looks like it would actually be comfortable to wear. I also think that this dress is made from some of the most beautiful metallic fabric that I’ve ever seen!

Jennifer Aniston in Valentino

This dress is my favorite ball gown and my favorite red dress of the evening.  I love that the fabric is crisp and is also the perfect shade of red.

Sandra Bullock in Elie Saab

I love everything about this dress. It’s a silhouette that Sandra has worn before and it’s very flattering. The fabric is beautiful and the illusion is well used and doesn’t reveal too much. I love the train and the cap sleeves!

Octavia Spencer in Tadashi Shoji

This dress is so soft and dreamy. I love the beautiful neckline. It’s so pretty. This color is also beautiful on Octavia.

Naomi Watts in Armani Prive

This dress is very futuristic and funky, but is also elegant. I love that juxtaposition! The neckline detail is so interesting. The metallic fabric is beautiful and the fit of the dress is perfect. Her hair and makeup are soft and compliment this look perfectly.

Sally Field in Valentino

This dress is lovely and so elegant. Sally proves that you can wear red at any age and be stunning.

Adele in Jenny Packham

I love this dress! It’s covered up, but not too much. The beading is so beautiful and I love the elbow sleeves. As always Adele’s hair and makeup look wonderful, too!

Jennifer Garner in Gucci

I love this dress. It’s an unusual but beautiful color for the red carpet. The detail on the bustle and train is so beautiful. The cut of the dress is perfect and so elegant. Jennifer’s hair, makeup and amazing jewelry all make this look absolutely stunning! She’s my best dressed of the night!

Dress Messes

Anne Hathaway in Prada

I know many people think Anne Hathaway is the new Audrey Hepburn, but she never will be for me. Audrey Hepburn was always classy. I don’t think that there’s anything demure about this dress, aside from its prim, flat color. It’s apparent that Anne wanted to look like Audrey, but I wish she had worn a gown that she could have worn proper undergarments with or had them built into her dress.  I think this dress is boring and it’s not classy- that’s a toxic fashion combination.

Kerry Washington in Miu Miu

I don’t like the watermelon color of this gown and the train seems too heavy. The beaded top isn’t properly balanced and looks cheap. I think the bow at the waist just pushes it completely over the top. Why don’t her shoes and dress coordinate better with her gown? Why is her gown so wrinkled? Seriously, where were her stylist and assistant? Her hair and makeup are so polished that it’s a shame more attention wasn’t paid to her gown and accessories.

Kelly Rowland in Donna Karan Atelier

The asymmetry of the dress is not flattering- it just looks silly and makes Kelly look slightly deformed. The slit of the dress is also too extreme. I have never seen a Donna Karan dress that I thought was more ill designed.

Reese Witherspoon in Louis Vuitton

I usually love royal blue, but there’s something off about the color of this gown. I don’t like the black detail on the bodice. I think that the fabric and cut of this dress make her hips look much wider and heavier than normal- that’s never good!

Kristen Stewart in Reem Acra

This lace is terrible. It ages Kristen and makes the dress look too much like a tablecloth. Even though I usually love tulle, I hate the tulle at the bottom because it looks like an afterthought.  Her hair is pretty though and I did actually see her smile!

Almost Successes

Jessica Chastain in Armani

The cut of this dress is lovely, as are her hair and makeup. I just don’t like the color. I’m not a big fan of neutral tones and this color looks a little too much like muted pumpkin to be pretty. I think if this dress were a different color it would have been a winner for me!

Jennifer Lawrence in Dior Haute Couture

I love ball gowns and I like the shape and cut of this gown. I just detest the fabric color and texture, it kind of looks like a mattress cover. A different fabric would have made this dress a winner for me!  Her hair and makeup are lovely.

Zoe Saldana in Alexis Mabille

I think this shade is lovely on Zoe and I also like the belt detail. I just don’t like the arts and crafts details at the bust and train. The heavy tricolor hem and the white flower decorations look like something that was hastily added to a gown on Project Runway during an office supply red carpet challenge. I think if the dress were more simply embellished that it would have been prettier!

He Said:  2013 Oscars Red Carpet

The Oscars may be a time when women typical pull out the most ornate dresses, but it’s the safest awards show when it comes to male fashion.  I’ve actually really been dreading this show, especially since we weren’t enthused by any of the nominees or the host.  It was a good night for being classic and wearing navy, and a bad night for unfortunately worn ties (I don’t hold the ties themselves responsible).

As I mentioned above, there were some great safe classic looks.  My favorites for safe Oscar menswear were Jeremy Renner, Daniel Radcliffe and Joseph Gordon-Levitt.  All three of these men came with great fitting tuxes, with perfectly done bowties.  Radcliffe even wore a cummerbund!

Classic isn’t always good however.  Chris Tucker really let everyone down with his floppy bowtie.  This is the same thing he’s been wearing all awards season.  I hope he never wears it again.

A couple of men used straight ties.  Mario Lopez looked fabulous in his well-tailored tux.  Quentin Tarantino on the other hand, looked like he had just rolled out of bed.  It might have looked better had he buttoned his shirt up and worn his tie properly!

Navy was a winning color last night.  Both male acting Oscar winners showed up in dapper blue suits.  Not surprisingly, Daniel Day Lewis’s tux was a flashier than Christoph Waltz’s more subdued tux.

Chris Pine looked great in his double-breasted tux.  Usually I shy away from double-breasted suits, but it really helps to sand out here in a good way.  He had great fit on this one.

Bradley Cooper showed us that the vest is truly back.  Although this isn’t something that people would call safe today, I love this throwback look.

The biggest winner in taking risks last night was definitely Jamie Foxx.  His grey tux is amazing.  The black shirt and bowtie are really sharp too.  In a world where the second biggest risk was wearing a navy tux, Jamie steps out of the box to prove he is a real man of style.

Who did you think was best dressed on the red carpet?