Our 200th Post!

She Said:

 

 

Wow. I can’t believe that we are celebrating our 200th post today! We thought that we would take a look back at some of our favorite posts. We’ve had a lot fun and it was hard to decide on favorites, but here are my top ten posts!

 

Peterson's Ice Cream Depot- Vanilla Soft Serve

Peterson’s Ice Cream Depot- Vanilla Soft Serve

 

Peterson’s Ice Cream Depot– I could eat here all the time. They have the best ice cream that I’ve ever had. When you add BBQ hot dogs and sweet potato fries, then you have one of my favorite treat meals!

 

 

Here we are with adorable Doc and Chou Chou!

Here we are with adorable Doc and Chou Chou!

 

Doc Scantlin and His Imperial Palms Orchestra– I love Doc and Chou Chou! They are truly the most elegant, charming and talented couple that I have ever met. The whole orchestra and the Girlfriends are so fabulous. We heard some awesome music and had a wonderful night! RJ and I still love to yell, “How do you like your oysters?” We have our dear readers to thank for sending us to this awesome show!

 

Mon Ami Gabi Quiche Lorraine

Mon Ami Gabi Quiche Lorraine

 

Mon Ami Gabi- I love French food and this Reston gem has all my favorites: yummy steaks, profiteroles, quiche and delicious sorbet.

 

Kari and Brian Stokes Mitchell

Kari and Brian Stokes Mitchell

 

On Stage: The Choral Arts Society of Washington: Broadway’s Show-Stoppers with Brian Stokes Mitchell– The music was awe-inspiring. I couldn’t believe that choral music could sound so ethereal and so invigorating, but The Choral Arts Society of Washington knocked my socks off.  Brian Stokes Mitchell was amazing. I’ll remember his performances of “The Impossible Dream” and “This Nearly Was Mine” always. Did I mention that I got my picture taken with him and he’s such a nice gentleman?

 

Makalo (Carolyn Cole) and Evan (James Gardiner) rehearse a song for national television in  “Spin.” The show  plays at Virginia’s Signature Theatre through July 27, 2013. Photo: Teresa Wood.

Makalo (Carolyn Cole) and Evan (James Gardiner) rehearse a song for national television in
“Spin.” The show
plays at Virginia’s Signature Theatre through July 27, 2013. Photo: Teresa Wood.

 

Spin– I love Signature Theatre. They have an amazing venue, but their performances are even more amazing. Spin, as produced by siglab, had such awesome music. I still sing, “I Have a Gift” and “Baby I Want You, Want You, Want You”. I’d love to see this show again someday!

 

Fiori Boat, 2012, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Richmond, 6x19X10' Photo: Scott M. Leen

Fiori Boat, 2012, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Richmond, 6x19X10′ Photo: Scott M. Leen

 

VFMA Chihuly Exhibit– I love art and it was a treat to be in the presence of Dale Chihuly’s beautiful glasswork. I also loved his paintings. I just wish we had the room and the money for one of his boats!

 

Country Tonite Theatre in  Pigeon Forge, TN

Country Tonite Theatre in Pigeon Forge, TN

 

Country Tonite– Pigeon Forge has a lot of performance venues. But, if you want to see the best show in town, then you need to see Country Tonite. It has great music, humor and wonderful dancing. They have a truly unique and wonderful blend of county music, gospel and bluegrass.  I’m still watching the DVD of the night we attended and I can’t wait to go back.

 

 

United Bates of America– I love the Bates family. I miss this show and I wish TLC would bring it back. We had a great time learning about the Bates and I’m just thankful that I can still keep up with them via their blog! They are such a beautiful, loving family and they’ve truly encouraged us in our walk with the Lord.

 

Center: Morgann Rose (Dew Drop Fairy) in The Washing Ballet’s production of Septime Webre’s “The Nutcracker.” Photo by Paul Zambrana

Center: Morgann Rose (Dew Drop Fairy) in The Washing Ballet’s production of Septime Webre’s “The Nutcracker.” Photo by Paul Zambrana

 

The Nutcracker– I was staggered by the absolute scale and beauty of the Washington Ballet’s performance! The touches of DC sprinkled throughout the production are so interesting and really enhance the performance.  I really felt like an awestruck little girl again because of  their beautiful staging and their dancers.

 

 

Fashion– I couldn’t pick just one fashion post! I’ve had great time writing about fashion, because I’ve always been interested in clothing and style. I feel like I’ve learned more about my personal style in the past year. I’ve also found where I feel truly comfortable about clothing modesty, which has been a really valuable experience. I love shorts, pants and sleeveless clothes and I don’t imagine that will change. But, I’ve discovered where my standards for modesty are and that’s really cool. Now, I just need some money to shop!

He Said:

amie (James Gardiner) and Cathy (Erin Weaver) can’t help but fall in love in “The Last Five Years,” now playing at Virginia’s Signature Theatre through April 28, 2013. Photo: Teresa Wood.

amie (James Gardiner) and Cathy (Erin Weaver) can’t help but fall in love in “The Last Five Years,” now playing at Virginia’s Signature Theatre through April 28, 2013. Photo: Teresa Wood.

The Last Five Years– This is probably the best musical we’ve seen for the blog.  Bravo to the talented people at Signature for doing such justice to such a thought-provoking piece with catchy music.

 

BonChon Chicken's Spicy Chicken Leg

BonChon Chicken’s Spicy Chicken Leg


BonChon– Who knew the real KFC (Korean Fried Chicken) would be so good!  This was something we might never have done if not for the blog, and now it’s a Rothstein family staple!

 


Courageous– This was our first actual review.  One of the reasons we started this blog was for the opportunity to share our spiritual/entertainment views, and to hold Christian entertainment to the same level of quality that everything else is held to.  This is still the best-done Christian movie we’ve seen.

 

Jersey Girl Diner

Jersey Girl Diner


Jersey Girl Diner– This restaurant was a huge surprise for me.  Bacon, good.  Hot dog, good.  Wrap one around the other and put in a deep fryer?  It’s something I’ll never forget!

 


Taste of Vienna– We went to this event in both 2012 and 2013.  Kari and I love getting to try different things, and not have to commit to a big plate of something so food festivals are awesome, and this one is the best in Northern Virginia.  If someone thinks there’s a better one, let us know so we can try it, but I doubt it will beat this one!

 

Freddy's Frozen Custard and Steakburgers- Freddy's Original Double

Freddy’s Frozen Custard and Steakburgers- Freddy’s Original Double


Freddy’s– The elusive tasty, well-cooked fast casual burger that doesn’t kill out stomachs, and good ice cream to boot!

 

crazy good burgers truck
Crazy Good Burgers– I get so sad when I think that the only way to get these is driving seven hours!  At least until Kari lifts the ban on us owning a food truck!  It would be worth to franchise from them just to get to eat the burgers all the time!  The lemonade is probably the best I’ve ever had as well.

 

From top left- Peanut Butter, Salted Caramel, Peanut Butter Cup From bottom left- Chocolate Ganache, Sticky Toffee, Birthday Cake

From top left- Peanut Butter, Salted Caramel, Peanut Butter Cup
From bottom left- Chocolate Ganache, Sticky Toffee, Birthday Cake


Babycakes Cupcakery– Another store that does the best at something I love that is a long drive away!  We still haven’t found a DMV cupcake that can compare!


Craft Wars– Great show and was fun to write about, now when are they going to do some more episodes?

 

Mellow Mushroom's Mighty Meaty Pizza

Mellow Mushroom’s Mighty Meaty Pizza


Mellow Mushroom– They finally opened one around here!  If you didn’t read this before because we were talking about our travels in Southwestern Virginia, check it out now that there’s a Mellow Mushroom in Herndon!

Kari and RJ

Kari and RJ

Thank you so much for reading, voting, commenting, following, fan-ing, liking, and sharing with us! We love writing this blog and look forward to were the next 200 and even 2000 posts will take us! Gratitude seems like such a small word, but we truly have it both to God for this opportunity and for you for sharing it with us.   We’re planning all sorts of the things for the future, so make sure to stay tuned to see what adventures and experiences we’ll be up to!

 

