Fashion Desk: 2013 Teen Choice Awards

She Said:

Wow, I was a little worried that there wouldn’t be many cool outfits at this year’s Teen Choice Awards. But, I was really surprised! I found lots of cute outfits on the blue carpet. Sure, there were some messes and some dresses that needed some work (more on those later), but overall I really felt this year’s celebs made wiser choices than they did last year.

She Said

Best Dresses

Lea Michele in Oscar de la Renta

She looked so pretty and happy in this lovely ensemble. It was fun and pretty. She’s had to deal with a lot of because of the death of Cory Monteith and I really do pray for her. She was dressed like a lady, in an occasion appropriate ensemble and paid him a lovely tribute.

jordin sparks 2013 teen choice awards

Jordin Sparks in Bebe

I love this blue and white striped dress! It’s so figure flattering.

 Demi Lovato 2013 teen choice awards

Demi Lovato

I love the big hair and rocker ensemble. The blazer, t-shirt and pants are a cool combination.

lauren potter 2013 teen choice awards

Lauren Potter

The color of this dress is so pretty. Its retro, feminine feel and breezy skirt make it perfect for the Teen Choice Awards.

brittany snow 2013 teen choice awards

Brittany Snow in Oliver Tolentino

The mint green lace is gorgeous. It’s a great summer dress that you could actually wear into fall due to the long sleeves.

michelle rodriguez 2013 teen choice awards

Michelle Rodriguez

I love the simple silhouette of this dress, as well as the color. Should the little purple dress be a new trend? Yes!

Bella Thorne 2013 teen choice awards

Bella Thorne in Fausto Puglisi

At first, I thought that I didn’t like this dress. But, now I love it! The contrasting colors of the two palm prints are so cool. I love the sweatshirt style cut of the top paired with a flared skirt.

lily collins 2013 teen choice awards

Lily Collins in Houghton Top and Fausto Puglisi

She’s my best-dressed woman of the night! I love the cut of the top and the skirt is gorgeous! The print and the train are so lovely

Dress Messes

ashley benson 2013 teen choice awards

Ashley Benson in Giorgio Armani

This ensemble is a mixture of ill-fitting and ill-made pieces that don’t look well together. It’s tough enough to mix black and dark blue and I don’t think adding coral shoes helps.

selena gomez 2013 teen choice awards

Selena Gomez in Cushnie et Ochs

I love the green color and the idea of this dress. But, the slits are just too much. All the exposed skin takes away from the elegance and structure of this dress.

kerry washington 2013 teen choice awards

Kerry Washington in Stella McCartney

While I’m a fan of the simple pale pink dress, I can’t stand the arts and crafts feel of the lipstick print art and appliqués.

Gabby Douglas 2013 teen choice awards

Gabby Douglas in Izmaylova

I don’t like the mix of yellow and a washed-out leopard print. The draping also has an unfortunate tablecloth feel to the draping.

hayley williams of paramore 2013 teen choice awards

Hayley Williams of Paramore

Um, the tube top and skirt don’t look well-made or go together well. The white cage vest is really over-the top.  I know Hayley is known for edgy and unique style, but I don’t think this look is very well done or very flattering.

Almost Successes

maia mitchell 2013 teen choice awards

Maia Mitchell

I like the gold pailettes. But this dress isn’t very flattering and because of the weight of the pailettes, it makes her figure appear wider and flatter, It would look much better with thinner straps or a more defined waistline. A bias cut gold pailettes dress would be awesome!

hailee steinfeld 2013 teen choice awards

Hailee Steinfeld in House of Holland

I love the both of the prints in this dress. But, I think the dress would look better without the contrasting ruffle.  It would be such an elegant sheath. Or if the flared part of the skirt were at the waistline either as a peplum or as the skirt itself, the dress would be more flattering.   The dress makes her look much shorter and overwhelms her. All I can look at is the flared part of the skirt!

Sasha Piterse 2013 teen choice awards

Sasha Pitrese in Naeem Khan

I like the idea of dressy pants. But these pants are much too voluminous!

He Said

The Teen Choice Awards is normally a very fun event where men take a lot of chances on their style choices.  This year, I have to admit was that it felt pretty boring.  It was a good night for button down shirts, and jackets.  There were also some interesting matching looks, for good and for bad.

The Best

one direction 2013 teen choice awards

One Direction- The boys of 1D always impress me.  They continue to grow in their own fashion, but yet don’t feel out of place as a group.  I love all the different jackets here.

darren criss 2013 teen choice awards

Darren Criss- On a night when a suit shouldn’t have made sense, Criss makes is work.  It really helps that the colors aren’t what you’re expecting, and the shoes are neat too.

Tyler Hoechlin 2013 teen choice awards

Tyler Hoechlin- This is my favorite look of the night.  I like the contrast of colors, and the shoes are a good touch too.  I would wear this outfit in a minute!

matthew morrison 2013 teen choice awards

Matthew Morrison- This look is simple and laid back, but cool and grown up.  I love it!

 

The Worst

jonas brothers 2013 teen choice awards

Jonas Brothers- Joe, Nick, and Kevin used to have very different styles that melded together very well when they were out together, but now they all have the same generic dudes-in-their-twenties look that is not impressive at all.

Miguel 2013 teen choice awards

Miguel- The choice of a David Bowie print tee is lazy, and I can’t tell what’s going on with those pants.  Where do they end and the boots begin?

 cody simpson 2013 teen choice awards

Cody Simpson-There’s too much going on here between the white patterned t-shirt over the hombre button down shirt underneath.

The In Between

ian somerhalder 2013 teen choice awards

Ian Somerhalder- I’m not a big fan of print t-shirts, but he earns some points from me that he’s promoting his eponymous charity and a news site that donates a chunk of it’s ad revenue to a charity of the week.

ed sheeran 2013 teen choice awards

Ed Sheeran- The fit doesn’t appear very good in the shirt, but otherwise, there’s something to this.

All images unless noted are from wonderall.msn.com