Two Palate Dining At Home: Starburst Candy Corn

Starburst Candy Corn

Starburst Candy Corn

She Said:

Halloween is such a fun time. Well, I’m not a fan of the whole witches, demons, vampire, ghosts scene- but I love the candy! And I love the costumes too.  It’s always fun to plan your costumes and get those darling tiny candy bars.  Oh, what about Smarties? I love them and I only buy them at Halloween.

 Everyone knows all about the traditional fun treats for this time of year: Reese Cups, Snickers, and Starbursts. But, this year we’ve seen some really interesting candies on the shelves of stores. We’ve seen Caramel Apple Milky Ways. I don’t like caramel apples. It’s weird. I like caramel. I like apples. But, I don’t like them together. We’ve also seen White Chocolate Candy Corn M&M’s. I have a few girlfriends who’ve flipped over these M&M’s, but I wasn’t interested. I hate white chocolate. I actually don’t like candy corn either.

At least, I thought I didn’t. That is until I tried Starburst Candy Corn.

I love Starburst. I’ve loved them since I was a little girl. I know they aren’t healthy, but they are delicious. I love the chewy, but not unmanageable texture. I also love all the flavors. When I saw this candy corn, I knew that if I was ever going to like candy corn it would be Starburst Candy Corn.

I don’t like the bland, “sweet”, chalky texture that candy corn usually has. These pieces actually taste like Starbursts, done in the four original flavors of Strawberry, Cherry, Orange and Lemon. If you like Cherry Starbursts, you’ll be relieved that they really capture the magic yumminess of that signature red square! I also love the lemon and strawberry, but I’m not crazy about the orange. They also have a great balance between chewy and soft.

I don’t like the waxy, boring traditional candy corn, with its bitter white stump endings. But, I plan to continue enjoying Starburst Candy Corn as long as it’s on the shelves.

And I might have two bags in my pantry 🙂

Kari’s Rating- 9

Starburst Candy Corn

Starburst Candy Corn

He Said: 

Fall is the time for a different mix of candies to start popping up in stores.  In preparation for Halloween, candies like mellowcream pumpkins and the perennial favorite candy corn appear, letting us know it’s only for a limited time.

These days, lots of crazy candies show up as well.  Some of these candies try to gross us out, and some show legitimate new takes on old favorites.  Starburst candy corn falls into the latter category for sure.

The flavors perfectly line up with their original flavor counterparts: strawberry, cherry, lemon, and orange.  The bite and mouth feel are an exact match for candy corn.  This makes for a neat disconnect in your brain, and a great eating experience.  Just like traditional candy corn, the ends come over and lay at the bottom of your bowl fairly frequently.  In this case however, the ends are all different flavors.  This makes for a great treat for those of us that like to cram a bunch of different flavors of starbursts into our mouth until you can’t distinguish the individual flavors anymore.  I hope I’m not the only one that does that!

I sure hope they sell these again next year because they are an awesome mash up of two of my favorite candies!

RJ Rating-10

