Fashion Desk: Fashion Week Spectators for Spring 2013 Collections

She Said: Fashion Week Spectators

New York Fashion Week is always such a big deal! I feel like it’s taken me weeks to sort through looking at the collections for Spring 2013.  You know, even though it’s so exciting I’m always slightly perplexed with it. Here I am getting ready to face winter, which is a season that I’m not crazy about.  Now, all I can think about are spring clothes!  I understand that designers, editors and buyers have to be a season ahead, but it’s kind of agonizing to think about bulky winter clothes when you could be wearing chiffon and seersucker.

This year I finally figured out a way to enjoy Fashion Week and still keep an eye toward the actual season we are beginning. I paid attention to the celebrity spectators. They have to look fabulous now and I got some great ideas for fall. Of course, I enjoyed the Christian Siriano, Kate Spade and many other shows for spring. But, I loved getting a chance to see some chic-ness and in some cases to looks to avoid for fall!

Favorite looks

Jessica Alba

I love the cheerful yellow print of the skirt.  I would wear this whole outfit. It’s a great mix of modern and vintage style.  The black leather pieces really make this look pop!

Christina Ricci

This dress is so sweet. I love the mix of pastels and bright colors.  It’s such a ladylike outfit and if you added a cardigan you could wear it all through the fall.

Ashley Greene in DKNY

Well-done illusion panels can add a little spice to plain outfit and this DKNY dress proves it! I love the little touch of illusion at the arms. It’s a great tweak to the little black dress.

Camilla Belle in Michael Kors

I love shorts and this outfit perfectly illustrates how dressy shorts can be. I bought my first pair of dressy shorts a couple of years ago and I love them! I wear them all through winter with tights. The print and swing of the jacket also make this look fun and chic.

Mandy Moore in Lela Rose

I love Lela Rose dresses. Mandy Moore wore several during fashion week, but this was my favorite. I didn’t know how crazy I was about yellow. Again it’s paired well with a black leather jacket and cute shoes. I think I’ll have to dabble in yellow this fall.  I’ve been wary of wearing yellow because being a fair-skinned brunette; it can be a hard color to pull off. But, I’m seeing a lot of cute yellow things for fall. Retro dresses are always a good thing though, in any shade!

Paula Abdul

I really like this outfit. Pink and black can be a hard combination to pull off, but I think this outfit looks great. I love the kimono style blouse. I really think that the longer flared skirt works well, too.

Looks to avoid

Kim Kardashian

The skirt is too tight so it’s puckering and buckling. A slim skirt really only looks good if it fits well. Tight clothing doesn’t look flatter anyone.  The top is so overdone with illusion and fringe that it looks like a sad cupcake. Embellishments really need to be used sparingly to be effective

Whitney Port

I can’t stand this skirt. A gathered, front pleat really just makes hips and waist look wide. I’m never interested in making myself look wider.

Jenifer Hudson

I like bright colors, but this color is just too toothpaste for me. Aqua is a really assertive color and this looks like an old Barbie doll suit. I think the jacket is too structured and pairing it with the jumpsuit really makes it look like an 80’s costume.

Katie Lee

I like leather accents and pieces. I just don’t think this is well executed. It looks like something you could pick up at a teen clothing store for $35. The print is really unattractive.

Michelle Trachtenberg

When I first saw this picture I thought someone had super imposed and doodled the straps/ bust line of this dress. I don’t like that accent at all! The fabric is stiff and heavy and the metallic sheen adds bulk. This is one of the least flattering dresses I saw all week.

Elisabeth moss

Black and gold is a fun and glamorous look for fall. But, if you don’t pay attention to fit and length it can look a little cheap. If this had even a cap sleeve or was just a little longer it would be really pretty cute.

Favorite celebs of the week

Two girls really looked great and showed off some wonderful looks for fall. I had to give them separate kudos for their fashionable appearances all week.

Lauren Conrad

I love Lauren Conrad. She’s got great personal style. She wears a lot of classic shapes and she has fun with prints, too.

This black and white dress is so cute. I love the mix of prints. The collar is so cute. I would happily wear this dress for fall.

This dress reminds me of South Pacific. It has a great shape and defined waist and the print is totally “Bali Ha’I”.

The darker colors of the pansy print make this dress a cute alternative for the typically lighter and brighter floral patterns of summer. I love the square neckline, too- super cute!

Kelly Osbourne

Kelly has really defined taste and I’m not always crazy about her choices, but I thought she looked wonderful during Fashion Week.

This look is totally mod from the colors to the details of this dress. It may look a little extreme, but it’s really a wearable dress, She’s really amped up the look with hair, makeup and accessories. However, if you stripped down the makeup, simplified the hair and swapped the purse for a solid color you’d have a totally wearable look.

This is so pretty! It’s almost a fairy dress. The smoky gray with pink floral accents is another great way to feel seasonal, but still stay floral.

I adore the red and black brocade. Does this dress not just scream holiday occasion? It’s got a great shape and isn’t too bare like many party dresses can be.

Well I’m ready to go shopping. Who wants to fund my fall wardrobe? 🙂

He Said:  Fashion Week 2012

It’s one thing to talk about red carpet fashion, or what’s on the runway, but what about those that get to consume the high-end fashion?  Menswear can be hard.  In some ways it’s so limiting, so I really admire those that step outside the box.  On the other hand, it’s very easy for things to get out of control fast.  Simple can be good too.

Best

Colton Hayes- Colton looks great here.  Even though he’s sitting down this suit still looks like it fits him well.  He doesn’t miss a note with the shirt color, or his belt or shoes.

Ryan Lochte- This suit fits well, and everything falls into place.  I wish he’d been a little more adventurous with the tie or some spot of color, but overall, it looks good.

Nick Cannon- I wouldn’t wear this outfit myself, but it looks great on him.  It’s a very elevated from of street fashion, that works well for these kind of events.

Worst

Adam Lambert- I didn’t even recognize him here.  He looks too young.  Everything is too loud.  As a balding man, I also find the gray hair color choice offensive.

BD Wong- where do I even start with this one?  Somehow I suspect that the whole outfit, from the velour look of the vest to the odd length of the shorts is a big joke on those that would review it.  There is nothing that works about BD’s look.

Brad Goreski- This looks too tight.  The shoes clash, and I don’t like the logo on his lapel.  The overall effect is weird.

Kevin Jonas- Sorry Kevin, I love your music, but hate the design of this shirt.

Almost Good

Justin Theroux- This is a great casual outfit, but it has one weird problem.  The layered jackets are adding bulk, and creating odd lines.  At first I thought the inner one was a design on his shirt.

Ricky Martin- Ricky’s outfit is a sharp monochromatic black look that fits well.  The problem is there are too many different kinds of shiny fabric here.  This is a problem that seems to be plaguing menswear at large at the moment.

Kellan Lutz- I actually would wear this get up except for one problem.  The sweater is too sheer.

all images are from msn.com

